Why girls shouldn’t swear

Dear Daughter,

I’m writing today on something I’m pretty passionate about: swearing. Particularly girls and swearing. No one should swear, really, but especially not girls. I know that makes me sound old-fashioned and sexist but it’s just a fact. When a man swears it’s annoying. When a girl swears it’s ugly. Plain and simple.

I’m going on the record to say that I am no saint when it comes to foul language. I’ve been known to occasionally use the “S” word (as you may know), particularly when I drop something or I miss a turn while driving. And every once in a blue moon I’ll get really mad and use other words that you shouldn’t even know about yet. But for the most part, I try to keep my mouth pretty clean. In fact, at my former workplace, I swore so seldomly that my coworkers had a “Swearing File” on me. Whenever I actually did throw out a curse word, they wrote down the date, the word and the reasons behind my uttering it. It was pretty funny. I took pride in their teasing because it meant I was known for having a clean vocab.

I just think that when girls use bad language, especially the “F” word, it sounds worse than when boys do. I don’t know why, it just does. It makes them appear a little less classy, less poised. And less creative! There are hundreds of thousands of words in the English language; surely there is a better way to express one’s frustration than by cursing.

Actually, I should clarify that I don’t mind so much when swear words are used out of frustration. I’ve done that myself and I know there is a certain release that takes place when you’re angry and you throw out a bad word in response. I get that. What I don’t get is when people use swear words in regular, everyday conversation, and they use them as nouns, verbs, adjectives, adverbs, wherever they can fit them in.

And when it’s a woman doing this, I just lose my mind. Again, at the risk of sounding old-fashioned… we were created to be the gentle gender, and that means carrying ourselves with class and dignity. It means using our intelligence and creativity, especially in our speech. I’m in no way saying that women should be silent; rather, we should stand out even more than our male counterparts because when we do speak, what we say is meaningful, productive, and makes a difference.

Be aware of what you’re saying at all times, Daughter. And be aware of the consequences of swearing just for the sake of swearing. I hope that when you leave a room, you’ll be remembered for your grace and charisma, not for the four-letter words you’ve left behind.

Love,
Mom

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stephanie
    Nov 08, 2011 @ 00:20:06

    Oh, I love this. I don’t swear either, like ever. And if I need to repeat a swear word I will whisper it. I don’t know WHY I feel so embarrassed by it, but maybe it is because I feel it’s not ladylike. I hadn’t really thought of that before.

    Love,
    Steph

    Reply

  2. ela83
    Nov 09, 2011 @ 07:11:16

    personally, i believe that it’s not good to swear no matter how old you are :)

    Reply

  3. Abagail
    Dec 06, 2012 @ 09:50:06

    “A vessel is known by the sound, whether it be cracked or not, so [people] are proved by their speeches whether they be wise or not.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers

