The importance of enjoying summer before it’s gone

Dear Daughter,

As a child, you know what it’s like to really enjoy the outdoors. You prefer to be outside as much as possible and you have the tan to prove it. But when you get older, the opportunities for spending time outside will dwindle. Unless you have a job that involves outdoor work, you’ll likely be stuck inside for at least 8 hours a day, nearly every day of the week. This is one of the tortures of growing older.

I currently work in an office without a window. I never know if it’s bright and sunny or rainy and gloomy. Whenever I do walk by a window and see that it is, in fact, bright and sunny, a part of me longs to ditch work, run outside and bask in the sun for the rest of the day. Where we live, after all, summertime is a fleeting event. And I feel it flees by even more quickly when I can’t be out there enjoying it.

(I don’t ditch work, by the way, because that would be bad.)

So when I’m not working, or when I’m not forced to be inside for some other reason (Like sleep. Pssht. Stupid sleep takes so much time away from other things.) I try to find a way to be outside. And now that the summer is drawing to an end (*sniff*) I’m a little panicked and actually kind of neurotic about it. Every moment spent inside feels like an opportunity missed… an opportunity for fun, health, warmth, and a nice tan. This is why I’m so insistent that we eat dinner on the patio, go for evening walks, and do weekend activities that only take place outdoors (like the beach, pool or festivals).

You see, Daughter, you enjoy the outdoors now; you recognize that it’s fun to be outside. But you don’t quite appreciate it as much as you will when you’re an adult and the majority of your day will feel like imprisonment from the one place you really want to be… The Great Outdoors. It’s my hope that you never take the beauty and the warmth of the outdoor world for granted. Because before you know it, it’ll be gone.

Love,
Mom

Leave a Reply

