Why it’s good to be weird

Dear Daughter,

Last night you came to me with tears in your eyes and asked a question that broke my heart into a million little pieces: “Mom, do you think I’m weird?”

Oh, darling.

I don’t know if other people have called you weird or if you just think that of yourself. Or maybe both. I do know that to be perceived as “different” in any way can be painful.

But here’s the thing… weird is far better than ordinary.

I think, if anyone has called you weird, it’s because you have a quirky sense of humor and an incredibly active imagination. Those are two of your most wonderful and delightful traits and I hope you never lose them just because some people might not understand you.

Weird people get things done. Weird people make a difference. You know who else was considered weird?

Albert Einstein.

Eleanor Roosevelt.

Michael Jackson.

Barack Obama.

And yes, even…

Your boy Justin Bieber.

All of these people were teased at some point in their life for being different, and yet they all have accomplished so much, even changed the world. You’re in good company, my dear.

The next time someone calls you weird, consider it a compliment. Thank them, even. For they have just verified that you’re no plain Jane. You march to the beat of your own drum, you see the world with different eyes, and you bring to the world a whole new perspective it’s never known before. Your weirdness makes you destined for greatness. Embrace it, revel in it, and continue celebrating it. In the words of Dave Ramsey, “Don’t be normal, be weird.”

Love,
Mom

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Aunt Lynn
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 09:01:20

    🙂 What a beautiful Letter. Such wisdom. Bella is blessed to have you for a mother.

    Reply

  2. Scott
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 17:37:07

    Very nice.

    Reply

  3. Lena
    Mar 17, 2012 @ 16:33:19

    Just stumbled across this blog post and have to say I couldn’t agree more! I’m 18, and whenever someone calls me weird I just automatically take it as a compliment. In fact I think I would feel offended if someone said I was normal. Who wants to be “normal”? Especially in this day and age, weird, awkward, geeky, nerdy, unique, crazy, and different are all considered to be good traits rather than bad. (I just realized this post is a bit old but I guess I will comment anyways!)
    -from a weird girl 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

