What a servant’s heart looks like

Dear Daughter,

Yesterday I wrote about the five love languages. I indirectly shared that my love language is Words of Affirmation (so keep those compliments comin’!). It didn’t take me long to figure out what your language is: Acts of Service. How do I know? This is how:

One Saturday morning, I came downstairs to see this beautiful table prepared for me. You had made breakfast and wanted to present it in a way that was special. When you saw how delighted it made me, you beamed with pride. It made you so happy to know that your hard work and creativity were being appreciated.

This is just one of the many examples of your servant’s heart. There have been several occasions when you’ve prepared food for us. (A chef in the making, perhaps?) One night I was feeling exhausted and you knew that, so you insisted that I stay on the couch while you made dinner, cleaned up after dinner and got yourself ready for bed without my prompting. You regularly help clean the house, and you’re more than willing to do what it takes to prepare for the baby’s arrival. Also, lately you’ve been helping some of the teachers after school, which was your idea. You have a carefully thought-out plan of which teachers you’re going to help and on which days. And you’re only eight.

Daughter, for the past few months I’ve been writing you these letters in order to teach you things, but in this case, you’re the one who is teaching me. When I think of my own love language, what first comes to mind is how I want to receive love. When I think of yours, the obvious answer lies in how you give love. You show your love in such tangible ways and yet don’t seem to expect anything in return. Helping others simply for the sake of helping them truly is pleasing to you. This is such a gift, my dear.

Thank you for giving of yourself, time and time again, and joyfully. Thank you for teaching me what real service looks like. Thank you for making me proud of you.

And thanks for breakfast.

Love,
Mom

Leave a Reply

