Knowing when to “just say no” to Facebook

Dear Daughter,

I’m addicted. Obsessed, even. And it’s gotten out of hand. So I decided to do something about it… I deleted the Facebook app from my iPhone.

That’s right—Facebook is my drug of choice these days, and believe it or not, it can be just as unhealthy as real drugs. I found myself pushing the little blue and white Facebook button on my phone’s screen about every 5 minutes, sometimes even more often. I wanted to see if anyone was commenting on my status or sending me a message, or I just wanted to know what everyone was up to. Usually I was disappointed. The notifications wouldn’t come or, if they did, they weren’t all that satisfactory, and knowing about everyone’s lives really didn’t benefit my life in any way either.

It got to the point where it was affecting my productivity and my overall sense of well-being. I realized that I started to look to Facebook for self-validation. Like if people responded favorably to my status updates or blog links, then I had worth. I was relying on a computer program to tell me whether or not I’m good enough. That’s pretty sad.

So I bucked up and deleted the app. Doing so has already made a huge difference. I’m MUCH more productive and focused at work, and I feel a sense of freedom, like I’m no longer chained to the ebb and flow of Facebook popularity (or lack thereof). I can just be my own person, doing my own thing.

Until 5:00, that is, when I get home and immediately hop on the computer. I didn’t give up Facebook altogether, after all, just on my phone. But still, it’s much more gratifying to come home to 5 or 6 notifications rather than receiving 1 or 0 at a time. And when I use the computer instead of my handy-dandy portable phone, it’s a temporary thing. I just see what’s going on, close out of it, and walk away. Back to my real life.

The point of today’s letter is this… Every once in a while you need to purge unhealthy addictions from your life, even if they’re not illegal addictions. (Which, by the way, stay away from the illegal ones too, please.) If something is invading your head space more than it should be, get rid of it. Walk away from it. And enjoy the benefits that come from doing so.

Love,
Mom

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. keeks
    Oct 12, 2011 @ 13:25:45

    Wow! Thank you for sharing this! I am struggling with this very thing. I think that is a great option to remove the app from my phone. Please pray : )

    Reply

  2. ela83
    Oct 19, 2011 @ 06:51:22

    this is true! i’ve been keeping up-to-date with facebook until a few weeks ago when I realized this isn’t healthy. i focused more on doing my hobbies, however, of course, i didn’t fully let go of facebook since it’s still the actual connection with good friends and loved-ones. however, i stopped playing fb games. now, i’m more into posting the latest developments of my “hobbies” in facebook and wordpress. thank you again! i really enjoyed reading your articles. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

